The Joys of Bachelorhood

“You know what? I hate being single!” “Oh, I wish I could have a boy/girlfriend!” “Will I ever get married?!”

Have you ever felt that being a bachelor is worthless? Or, for that matter, have you thought life would be much better with a husband or wife all your days? Or is all that still part of your agenda?

If so, I hear you. I respect you in all these fields. Now if you ask me how I felt about being a bachelor, which I’ve been all my life, I actually quite enjoy it very much. And I will tell you why.

For one thing, there’s no conflict. As lovely as it is to have the man or woman of your dreams, a great deal of arguing or differences in parental roles are to be expected. For another, there are disputes over all the little things — money, groceries, home-owning, children — sounds like too much come to think of it. In short, you might as well be tempted to call it tough love.

All of this is based on what I’ve seen and heard, yet of course I haven’t experienced it myself. But let’s focus on the positive side of bachelorhood, shall we?

So, like I said, I’m devoid of any conflict with a significant other. Nothing like that. There have never been any times where I’ve gone dating a girl around my age, and no lectures of the sort from my parents. Why, I have never even been asked out! Then there’s arguing, something I’ve never been too fond of at the least, for fear of breaking up. Without all of these conflicts, I’m happy as a lark!

True, I’ve never had a girlfriend at any point in my life, although I have been teased about having one. For instance, when I was in middle and/or high school, my siblings teased me for liking a girl, or girls. But that was a mainly because of girls describing me as cute, smart or funny. Why, there was even a time when my siblings forced me to make a cup-holder for one girl… against my own will! If there ever was one reason why I would make it, it’s not because of me having a crush on her. Instead, it’s gratitude for her being nice to me! So there!


  1. As much as I like women (and I always have, if you ask me), no one has ever really had the hot spots for me physically. That’s not my problem! Besides, it’s not the physical features I really pay attention to when it comes to a good woman, but rather, it’s what she is internally. What I look for in a good woman is decency, kindness, compassion, brains, maturity, and most of all, a clean and pure heart. To quote Proverbs 31:30, “Charm is deceptive and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the LORD is to be praised.”

    So you see, my dear readers, that is the kind of woman I want to marry. Someday I may find the right woman, but in the meantime I will continue my days as a bachelor and leave it in His hands.

One thought on “The Joys of Bachelorhood

Leave a comment